WEDHIA 2018

Goto WEDHIA 2018 Program

Workshop of Education on Digital Humanities Innovative Application in the Big Data Era (WEDHIA)

The advancements in information and communications technology have led the global economy into the era of Industry 4.0 or the fourth industrial revolution. Big data, blockchain, FinTech, Internet of Everything, and other cutting-edge ICT terminologies, however, are not enough to describe the digital economy. The features of a digital economy lie on the concepts of interdisciplinarity, modularity, and customization, which implies that the information of heterogeneous individual characteristics is critical to business innovation. To “decode” such information in big data depends on the knowledge in humanities and social sciences, including psychology, linguistics, literature, history, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, economics, political science, religious study, cultural study, and arts. As quoted by Peter Salovey, President of Yale University, Lei Zhang, a Yale alumnus, once said “The humanities are fundamental to reason. Isolating data and technology from the humanities is like trying to swim without water; you can have all the moves of Michael Phelps, but you still won’t end up getting anywhere” (as cited in Salovey, 2017, para. 6).

That being said, students majored in humanities and social sciences who desire to participate in the decoding business and succeed in the digital economy need to be familiar with big data analytics. Although more and more digital humanities courses have been offered in universities, most of them focus on the application of digital technologies to traditional humanities. Few emphasize the application of digital humanities to solving the practical problems in the new digital economy. Lacking applied education in digital humanities may result in a gap between the labor demand and supply in digital economies.

WEDHIA, of which two sessions will be held on the third day of DADH 2018, is to investigate the new trend in the development of digital humanities applications and new pedagogical methods to teach digital humanities applications. We invite those having experiences or interest in this field to participate in WEDHIA to exchange knowledge and stimulate new ideas.

References

Salovey, P. (2017, March 23). Why we need the humanities more than ever. World Economic Forum. Retrieved from https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/03/the-key-to-responsible-and-responsive-leadership-the-humanities?utm_content=buffer1f27f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

平行會議:大數據數位人文產學前沿應用教學研討會 (WEDHIA 2018)

到WEDHIA 2018議程

資通科技的發展,帶動全球經濟邁向工業4.0的時代,其特徵不僅在於「大數據」、「區塊鏈」、「金融科技」、「萬物物聯網」等技術的創新,更在於「跨領域」、「模組化」和「客製化」的思維。這意味著獲取異質化個人特質的資訊,將成為企業創新的基石。如何從「大數據」中萃取這些資訊?舉凡心理學、語言學、文學、史學、哲學、人類學、社會學、經濟學、政治學、宗教與文化研究、及藝術等人文社會科學的知識,即成為解碼的關鍵。誠如耶魯大學校長Peter Salovey引述一位校友Lei Zhang的話說:「人文是推理的基石,把人文從資料和科技分離就像游泳沒有水,即使你有如Michael Phelps 般的泳技,也游不到任何地方。」(as cited in Salovey, 2017, para. 6).

然而,人文社科的學生,若想要參與大數據解碼工程、在數位經濟中佔有一席之地,也必須於自己的工作崗位上懂得駕馭大數據相關工具, 否則即使有再高的文學及藝術造詣,也難逃龍陷淺灘,虎落平陽的命運。各大學雖已逐漸興設「數位人文」課程,但著重於將數位工具應用於傳統的人文研究。至於「啓發學生以數位人文知識解決數位經濟下的實務問題」這方面的教學則相對缺乏,難以因應數位經濟時代對跨域數位人文專業人才之需求。

本次在DADH 2018 第三天進行兩場的WEDHIA,其目的即在拋磚引玉,廣邀從事數位人文產學前沿應用教育有成及有興趣之專家學者,進行交流對話,探討未來應用之新作法及發展趨勢,刺激數位人文應用教學之創意與想法,並提升國內數位人文學界對前沿應用之重視及知識。

參考文獻

Salovey, P. (2017, March 23). Why we need the humanities more than ever. World Economic Forum. Retrieved from https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/03/the-key-to-responsible-and-responsive-leadership-the-humanities?utm_content=buffer1f27f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer